ITIL Certification Guide: Levels, Career paths, and Salaries

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library, commonly known as ITIL, is a framework offering best practices to deliver IT services by following a systematic approach. ITIL is based on a service lifecycle model defining specific processes activities that will help in guiding development, design, delivery and support of IT services.

With the help of ITIL framework, organizations make sure that their services and products are delivered as per a set of well-defined and consistent processes leading to predictable service quality. Some of the major benefits of ITIL certification cost savings on development and deployment services, enhanced customer satisfaction with service delivery, enhancement in the productivity, improvement in quality, efficient metrics management and improvement in flexibility in terms of adapting to services as per the constant changes in the business requirements.

ITIL certification


ITIL certification offers a modular approach towards the ITIL framework and includes different levels of certifications specific to different facets of best practices followed under ITIL. Level-wise bifurcation allows candidates to have a flexibility to focus on specific areas of ITIL as per their learning objectives and interest. Recently, ITIL has transformed from ITIL v3 to ITIL 4 by transitioning from one kind of framework to a new type of framework. Individuals with ITIL v3 Foundation certification are highly recommended to go for ITIL Foundation certification to be up to date with their skills. And candidates at intermediate level will be required to have at least 17 v3 credits to be eligible for transitioning to ITIL 4 by taking only one course and one exam.

Levels of ITIL certification

ITIL 4 certification can be accomplished in 4 different levels which are:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation Level
  • ITIL 4 Managing professional Level
  • ITIL 4 Strategic Leader Level
  • ITIL 4 Master Level

ITIL 3 Foundation Level

This level of certification has been developed for giving an introduction to ITIL 4 and allows candidates to learn about IT service management via end-to-end operating model for development, delivery and continuous enhancement of tech-led products and services.

ITIL 4 Managing Professional Level

This level of certification allows candidates to seek practical and technical knowledge on successfully running IT-based services, teams and workflows. It has been tailored to meet learning objectives IT practitioners working closely with digital and technology teams across businesses.

ITIL 4 Strategic Leader

Upon seeking ITIL 4 Strategic Leader certification, candidates learn to recognize the importance of ITIL both in terms of IT operations and digitally-enabled services. Furthermore, one develops understanding of how IT impacts and directs different business strategies.

ITIL 4 Master Level

This is the highest level of ITIL 4 certification and requires candidates to make others understand and justify the range of ITIL-led knowledge, principles, methodologies, techniques for accomplishing desirable business outcomes.

ITIL career paths and Salary

After completing ITIL certification, you can explore the following career paths and earn the respective average salary as mentioned in the table below:

Job TitleSalary RangeAverage Salary
IT Manager$64,000-149,000$103,953
Service Delivery Manager$57,000-137,000$94,150
IT Operations Manager$71,000-132,000$98,637
Service Desk Manager$57,000-109,000$83,700
Incident Manager$55,000-115,000$80,765
Senior Project Manager (IT)$87,000-142,000$125,244
IT Consultant$51k – $128$88,915

ITIL is one of the top IT certifications and has been helping businesses to manage risks, make stronger relations with customers, enforce cost-effective practices and build a highly stable IT environment that will allow growth and positive transformations. Hence, seeking an ITIL certification will help you rise higher in the career ladder and have a rewarding career ahead.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply