Durga Puja 2016 Date, Schedules, Wallpapers, Durgotsav Date Time

Durga Puja is also popularly known as Durgotsava. It is the annual worship of Goddess Durga. Durga Puja is celebrated across six days – Mahalaya, Maha Saptami, Shashthi, Maha Ashtami, Maha Navami and Vijayadashami. It is celebrated from the sixth day of a bright lunar fortnight to the tenth day. This period coincides with the festival called Devi Paksha. Mahalaya is followed by Devi Paksha and ends with Kojagori Lokkhi Puja which falls on the Kojagori Full Mooon Night.

What Is Durga Puja

Durga Puja

Durga Puja is the largest Hindu festival. It is celebrated across India and internationally as well. It is celebrated from the sixth day to the tenth day of the waning moon in the Ashvin month. This is the sixth month according to the Bengali Calendar. However due to the changes in the lunar cycle, there are years that Durga Puja is celebrated in the following month which is Kartika. As per the Gregorian calendar, these two months correspond with September and October. The puja’s are held across ten days and celebrates the home coming of a married Durga to her father. People usually celebrate it glamorously by wearing new clothes and giving gifts to loved ones. Families then usually go to visit Pandals. It is a carnival atmosphere where people of all religions get together and celebrate.

Durga Puja

Durga Puja Day One to be held on 01 October 2016

Shailputri Puja

Ghatasthapana or Pratipada or Kalash Puja

Durga Puja to be held on 02 October 2016

Chandra Darshan Tithi

Durga Puja Day Two to be held on 03 October 2016

Brahmacharini Puja

Dwitiya Puja

Durga Puja Day Three to be held on 4 October 2016

Chandraghanta Puja or Tritiya Puja or Sindoor Tritiya Day

Durga Puja Day Four to be held on 5 October 2016

Kushmanda Puja or Chaturthi Puja

Upang Lalita Vrat and Varad Vinayaka Chauth will be also be celebrated on this day

Durga Puja Day Five to be held on 6 October 2016

Skandamata Puja or Panchami Puja

Durga Puja Day Six to be held on 7 October 2016

Katyayani Puja or Shashthi Puja

Kalparambha or Bilva Nimantran, Amantran and Adhivas Puja or Akal Bodhon is also celebrated on this day as per the Bengali Calendar

Saraswati Awahan

Durga Puja Day Seven to be held on 8 October 2016

Kalaratri Puja or Saptami Puja

Kolabou Puja or Navpatrika Puja to be held as per the Bengali Calendar

Durga Puja Day Eighth to be held on 9 October 2016

Maha-Ashtami Puja or Ashtami Puja or Mahagauri Puja

Kumari Puja, Sandhi Puja and Saraswati Puja to be held as per the Bengali Calendar

Durga Puja Day Nine to be held on 10 October 2016

Durga Balidan and Ayudha Puja to be held as per the Bengali Calendar

Maha Navami Puja

Durga Puja Day Tenth to be held on 11 October 2016

Durga Visarjan and Vijayadashami Sindoor Utsav to be held as per the Bengali Calendar

Dashami Puja